Jeff Meer's Blog – January 2011 Archive (4)

Global Health Council Blog on NCDs

For those following the threat of non communicable diseases, especially in developing countries, you may be interested in a blog post on this subject by Global Health Council Policy Manager Craig Moscetti.

 

Is this an "AIDS Moment" for NCDs?

 

"Non-communicable diseases (NCDs) are arguably one of the greatest threats to global health and economic development in the coming decades and many in the global health community are hoping the…

Continue

Added by Jeff Meer on January 28, 2011 at 2:00pm — No Comments

World Economic Forum Event to Focus on Non Communicable Diseases

For those interested in the ongoing global discussion concerning the impact of non communicable diseases, there is an event scheduled to take place on Thursday, January 27 at the World Economic Forum meeting in Davos, Switzerland, on this subject.  The event will be webcast live, beginning at 10 am Eastern Standard Time (9 am Central, 8 am Mountain, 7 am Pacific) at:…

Continue

Added by Jeff Meer on January 26, 2011 at 8:44am — 1 Comment

United Nations to Hold High Level Session on Non Communicable Diseases

Do you think that HIV/AIDS, malaria and TB are the world's top killers? Many people do, but they are also wrong. By far and away the globe's most potent causes of death, according to the World Health Organization (WHO), are chronic illnesses, including cardiovascular diseases, cancers, chronic respiratory diseases and diabetes. These together kill more than 35 million people every year, approximately 60 percent of all deaths worldwide. By comparison, in 2009, the infectious disease AIDS…

Continue

Added by Jeff Meer on January 24, 2011 at 1:30pm — No Comments

© 2017   Created by Dialogue4Health.   Powered by

Badges  |  Contact Us  |  Terms of Service